Home

Objects Fundamentals

 

Introduction

An object is anything that can be described. In the real world, examples of objects are the moon, a ball, a hand, a book, a head, a song, a box. As different as objects are, they follow some basic rules used to describe them. A characteristic of an object is a word or a group of words used to describe the object. Some characteristics are applied to all objects. For example, every object must be identified with a word or a group of words referred to as its Name:

 
Object Person Table Ball Insect Map
Name Person Table Ball Insect Map

Some characteristics apply to a group of objects but don't apply to another group. For example, a characteristic called width can be used to describe a car, a medical pill, a piece of paper, or a computer monitor:

Common Characteristics Digital Camera Clothes Basket Car Tennis Ball
Name Digital Camera Basket Car Tennis Ball
External Color Black Blue Grey Yellow
Unit Price 899.95 24.55 19995.00 6.25

Some other characteristics can be applied to one object or one type of object that is mostly unique.

When creating a database, you will also use objects but these are referred to as Windows controls or simply controls. In a typical application, you will choose the objects, that is, the controls that you judge necessary and you will make them part of your application. Here is an example of a form with various controls:

Bethesda Car Rental - Order Processing

As we move, we will indicate how to choose controls and populate a form with them.

 

Practical LearningPractical Learning: Introducing Objects

  1. Start Microsoft Access and, from the resources that accompany these lessons, open the Exercise1 database
  2. To display an existing object, under the Objects bar of the Database window, click Forms
  3. In the right frame of the window, double-click Sample Form
     
 

The Properties of an Object

In the programming world, a characteristic of an object is referred to as a property of that object. For example, as mentioned above, every object must have a name. The name is used to identify the object. In the same way, the other characteristics that we reviewed above are in fact the properties of that object.

Because every object has properties, they can be created as a list. Consider the second table we saw above:

Common Characteristics Digital Camera Clothes Basket Car Tennis Ball
Name Digital Camera Basket Car Tennis Ball
External Color Black Blue Grey Yellow
Unit Price 899.95 24.55 19995.00 6.25

The properties of each object are: its name, its external color, and its unit price. This can be illustrated as:

Object
Property Name
Name
External Color
Unit Price

To represent an object, that is, to describe it, you can give a value to each property. For example, the properties of the digital camera from the above table are its Name, its External Color, and its Unit Price. The values of the properties of that camera are: Name: Digital Camera, External Color: Black, Unit Price: 899.95. This can be illustrated as:

Object
Property Name Property Value
Name Digital Camera
External Color Black
Unit Price 899.95

From this illustration, it is important to make a distinction between a property and its value: a property is a word or a group of words used to define what constitutes an object. A value is the word or a group of words used to formally describe an object. In the programming world, the name of a property is always of one word only, as the Name property in the above table. If a name is made of more than one word, then they must be combined into one. In the same way, the value of a property is made of only one word. Also, if the name is a combination of words, they must be concatenated (added) to produce one word. Based on this, the properties and their values from the above table would be:

Object
Name DigitalCamera
ExternalColor Black
UnitPrice 899.95

Just as done in the real world, Microsoft Access also relies on objects to represent a database. One of the most regularly used objects of a database is called a table. Another regularly used object of an application is called a form. There are many other objects as we will find out in future lessons.

Visually Accessing the Properties of an Object

Each object has properties. To effectively use an object, you should be familiar with its properties or at least how to use them to describe an object.

During the design of an object, you will have a window that represents its properties. The window that displays the list of properties is different depending on the object and depending on whether you are working in Microsoft Access or in Microsoft Visual Basic. For a form, which is probably the most regularly used object of an application, in these lessons, the window that presents its properties will be called the Properties window. It appears as a resizable horizontal window with 5 tabs labeled Format, Data, Event, Other, and All:

As mentioned in the previous lesson, in Microsoft Visual Basic, the Properties window usually appears in the lower left section of the screen and appears with 2 tabs labeled Alphabetic and Categorized:

To visually configure a property, you must first locate it in the Properties window. If you are working in Microsoft Access, the properties are categorized in three tabs: Format, Data, and Other. All of these properties are also represented in the All tab. Each property appears with its name as in the real world: in different words. Examples are Caption, Default View, or Min Max Buttons. After locating the property, to see or change its value, you use the box on its right. This means that a property is made of two sections: a property name and a property value. This can be illustrated as follows:

If you are working in Microsoft Visual Basic, you can use the same approach to change a property using the Properties window. This time, the names of properties appear in one word and they are in their official format.

 

Programmatically Accessing the Properties of an Object

To programmatically change a property, in your code section, type the name of its object, followed by a period operator ".", followed by the official name of the property, followed by the assignment operator, and followed by the desired value. This means that you must know the name of the object whose property you want to change. You must know the name of the property you want to change, and you must know the possible values that the property can receive. Here is an example of code that hides a rectangular box, named boxRectangle, when the user clicks a button:

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    boxRectangle.Visible = False
End Sub

Fortunately, when writing code, the Code Editor is equipped to assist you with the names of available properties. When you type the name of a object followed by the period operator, the available properties would appear in a list:

We mentioned earlier that the names of objects are usually in one word. In reality, Microsoft Access is very flexible and allows you to use more than one word to name an object (but the properties names are always in one word). If you have an object that is made of more than one word, when referring to it in an expression, whether in the Properties window or with your code, you must include it between the opening square bracket "[" and the closing square bracket "]". For example, suppose that you have a box named Rectangular Box instead of boxRectangle. The above code would be written as:

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    [Rectangular Box].Visible = False
End Sub

There is no penalty if you always include the name of an object in square brackets when referring to it whether in the Properties window or with code, even if the name is made of one word. Here is an example:

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    [boxRectangle].Visible = False
End Sub

This would produce the same result as above.

Practical LearningPractical Learning: Introducing Properties

  1. To change the view of the form, while the form is activated, on the main menu, click View -> Design View
  2. Notice that a window appears with a caption that displays Form. If you don't see it, on the main menu of Microsoft Access, click View -> Properties
     
  3. This is the Properties window in Microsoft Access. Notice that it is divided in five property pages
  4. To open Microsoft Visual Basic, on the Standard toolbar of Microsoft Access, click the Code button Code
  5. Notice that the Properties window displays the properties of the form as it is selected in the Project window
  6. In the Object combo box of the Code Editor, select Form
  7. Type NavigationButtons = False
     
  8. To return to Microsoft Access, on the toolbar, click the View Microsoft Access button View Microsoft Access
  9. On the Standard toolbar of Microsoft Access, click the View button Button: Form View
     
  10. After viewing the result, on the Form View toolbar of Microsoft Access, click the View button Design View

With the Properties of an Object

Sometimes, you will need to access only one property of an object. In some other cases, you will need to change various properties to perform a specific task. To do this for each property, as we saw above, you can type the name of the object, followed by the period operator, followed by the name of the property, press Enter, and do the same on the next line. Here is an example:

Private Sub cmdManipulate_Click()
    boxEnvelop.BackStyle     = 1
    boxEnvelop.BackColor     = 979478
    boxEnvelop.SpecialEffect = 1
    boxEnvelop.BorderColor   = 234657
    boxEnvelop.BorderWidth   = 2
End Sub

As an alternative, instead of typing the name of the control over and over again, you can use the With operator whose formula is:

With ObjectName
	Statements
End With

On the right side of the With keyword, type the name of the control whose properties you want to access. Under the With ObjectName line, type your statements and expressions as you wish but start each property of the ObjectName with the period operator ".". At the end of the With statement, type End With. Based on this, the above code would have been written:

Private Sub cmdManipulate_Click()
    With boxEnvelop
    	.BackStyle     = 1
    	.BackColor     = 979478
    	.SpecialEffect = 1
    	.BorderColor   = 234657
    	.BorderWidth   = 2
    End With
End Sub
 
 

Previous Copyright Yevol, 2007 Next

Page d'Accueil

Principes fondamentaux d'objets

 

Objets

 

Introduction

Un objet est quelque chose qui peut être décrit. Dans le réel, les exemples des objets sont la lune, une boule, une main, un livre, une tête, une chanson, une boîte. Aussi différent que les objets sont, ils suivent quelques règles de base employées pour les décrire. Une caractéristique d'un objet est un mot ou un groupe de mots employés pour décrire l'objet. Certaines caractéristiques sont appliquées à tous les objets. Par exemple, chaque objet doit être identifié avec un mot ou un groupe de mots désignés sous le nom de son nom :

Objet Person Table Ball Insect Map
Nom Personne Tableau Boule Insecte Carte

 

Certaines caractéristiques s'appliquent à un groupe d'objets mais ne s'appliquent pas à un autre groupe. Par exemple, une largeur appelée caractéristique peut être employée pour décrire une voiture, une pillule médicale, un morceau de papier, ou un moniteur d'ordinateur :

Caractéristiques communes Digital Camera Clothes Basket Car Tennis Ball
Nom Appareil-photo de Digital Panier Voiture Boule de tennis
Couleur externe Noir Bleu Gris Jaune
Prix unitaire 899.95 24.55 19995.00 6.25

Quelques autres caractéristiques peuvent être appliquées à un objet ou à un type d'objet qui est la plupart du temps unique.

Quand créant une base de données, vous emploierez également des objets mais ces derniers sont mentionnés comme des commandes de Windows ou simplement des commandes. Dans une application typique, vous choisirez les objets, c'est-à-dire, les commandes que vous jugez nécessaire et vous leur ferez une partie de votre application. Voici un exemple d'une forme avec de diverses commandes :

Bethesda Car Rental - Order Processing

Car nous nous déplaçons, nous indiquerons comment choisir des commandes et peupler une forme avec elles.

Étude pratiqueÉtude pratique : Présentation des objets

  1. Commencer le Microsoft Access et, à partir des ressources qui accompagnent ces leçons, ouvrir la base de données Exercise1
  2. Montrer un objet existant, sous la barre d'objets de la fenêtre de base de données, cliquent des formes
  3. Dans la bonne armature de la fenêtre, double-cliquer la forme témoin
     

Les propriétés d'un objet

Dans le monde de programmation, une caractéristique d'un objet désigné sous le nom d'une propriété de cet objet. Par exemple, comme mentionné ci-dessus, chaque objet doit avoir un nom. Le nom est employé pour identifier l'objet. De la même manière, les autres caractéristiques que nous avons passées en revue en haut sont en fait les propriétés de cet objet.

Puisque chaque objet a des propriétés, elles peuvent être créées comme liste. Nous considérer la deuxième table scie ci-dessus:

Caractéristiques communes Digital Camera Clothes Basket Car Tennis Ball
Nom Appareil-photo de Digital Panier Voiture Boule de tennis
Couleur externe Noir Bleu Gris Jaune
Prix unitaire 899.95 24.55 19995.00 6.25

Les propriétés de chaque objet sont : son nom, sa couleur externe, et son prix unitaire. Ceci peut être illustré comme:

Objet
Nom de propriété
Nom
Couleur externe
Prix unitaire

Représenter un objet, c'est-à-dire, le décrire, vous peuvent donner une valeur à chaque propriété. Par exemple, les propriétés de l'appareil-photo numérique de la table ci-dessus sont son nom, sa couleur externe, et son prix unitaire. Les valeurs des propriétés de cet appareil-photo sont : Nom : Appareil-photo de Digital, couleur externe: Noir, prix unitaire : 899.95. Ceci peut être illustré comme:

Objet
Nom de propriété Valeur de propriété
Nom Appareil-photo de Digital
Couleur externe Noir
Prix unitaire 899.95

De cette illustration, il est important de faire une distinction entre une propriété et sa valeur : une propriété est un mot ou un groupe de mots employés pour définir ce qui constitue un objet. Une valeur est le mot ou un groupe de mots employés pour décrire formellement un objet. Dans le monde de programmation, le nom d'une propriété est toujours d'un mot seulement, comme propriété nommée dans la table ci-dessus. Si un nom est fait en plus d'un mot, alors ils doivent être combinés dans un. De la même manière, la valeur d'une propriété est faite en seulement un mot. En outre, si le nom est une combinaison des mots, ils doivent être enchaînés (supplémentaire) pour produire un mot. Basé sur ceci, les propriétés et leurs valeurs de la table ci-dessus seraient :

Objet
Nom DigitalCamera
ExternalColor Noir
UnitPrice 899.95

Juste comme fait dans le réel, le Microsoft Access se fonde également sur des objets pour représenter une base de données. Un des objets le plus régulièrement utilisés d'une base de données s'appelle une table. Un autre objet régulièrement utilisé d'une application s'appelle une forme. Il y a beaucoup d'autres objets car nous découvrirons dans de futures leçons.

Visuellement accès des propriétés d'un objet

Chaque objet a des propriétés. Pour employer efficacement un objet, vous devriez être au courant de ses propriétés ou au moins comment les employer pour décrire un objet.

Pendant la conception d'un objet, vous aurez une fenêtre qui représente ses propriétés. La fenêtre qui montre la liste de propriétés est différente selon l'objet et selon si vous travaillez dans le Microsoft Access ou en de base visuel de Microsoft. Une forme, qui est probablement l'objet le plus régulièrement utilisé d'une application, dans ces leçons, la fenêtre qui présente ses propriétés sera réclamé la fenêtre de propriétés. Il apparaît comme fenêtre horizontale resizable avec 5 étiquettes marquées composent, des données, événement, autre, et tous:

Comme mentionné dans la leçon précédente, en de base visuel de Microsoft, la fenêtre de propriétés habituellement apparaît dans la section gauche inférieure de l'écran et apparaît avec 2 étiquettes marquées alphabétiques et classées par catégorie:

Pour configurer visuellement une propriété, vous devez d'abord la localiser dans la fenêtre de propriétés. Si vous travaillez dans le Microsoft Access, les propriétés sont classées par catégorie dans trois étiquettes : Format, données, et autre. Toutes ces propriétés sont également représentées dans la toute la tableau. Chaque propriété apparaît avec son nom comme dans le réel : dans différents mots. Les exemples sont légende, vue de défaut, ou boutons maximum minimum. Après avoir localisé la propriété, pour voir ou changer sa valeur, vous utilisez la boîte sur sa droite. Ceci signifie qu'une propriété est faite de deux sections : un nom de propriété et une valeur de propriété. Ceci peut être illustré comme suit :

Si vous travaillez en de base visuel de Microsoft, vous pouvez employer la même approche pour changer une propriété en utilisant la fenêtre de propriétés. Cette fois, les noms des propriétés apparaissent dans un mot et ils sont dans leur format officiel.

Programmatically accédant aux propriétés d'un objet

Pour changer programmatically une propriété, dans votre section de code, dactylographier le nom de son objet, suivi d'un opérateur de période « .  », suivi du nom officiel de la propriété, suivi de l'opérateur de tâche, et suivi de la valeur désirée. Ceci signifie que vous devez savoir le nom de l'objet dont la propriété vous voulez changer. Vous devez savoir le nom de la propriété que vous voulez changer, et vous devez savoir les valeurs possibles que la propriété peut recevoir. Voici un exemple du code qui cache une boîte rectangulaire, appelé boxRectangle, quand l'utilisateur clique un bouton :

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    boxRectangle.Visible = False
End Sub

Heureusement, en écrivant le code, le rédacteur de code est équipé pour vous aider avec les noms des propriétés disponibles. Quand vous dactylographiez le nom d'un objet suivi de l'opérateur de période, les propriétés disponibles apparaîtraient dans une liste:

Nous avons cité précédemment que les noms des objets sont habituellement dans un mot. En réalité, le Microsoft Access est très flexible et te permet d'employer plus d'un mot pour appeler un objet (mais les noms de propriétés être toujours dans un mot). Si vous avez un objet en lequel est fait plus d'un mot, en se rapportant à lui dans une expression, si dans la fenêtre de propriétés ou avec votre code, vous devez l'inclure entre le crochet d'ouverture « [ » et le crochet de fermeture « ] ». Par exemple, supposer que vous avez une boîte appelée Rectangular Box au lieu du boxRectangle. Le code ci-dessus serait écrit comme :

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    [Rectangular Box].Visible = False
End Sub

Il n'y a aucune pénalité si vous incluez toujours le nom d'un objet entre crochets en se rapportant à lui si dans la fenêtre de propriétés ou avec le code, même si le nom est fait en un mot. Voici un exemple :

Private Sub cmdHide_Click()
    [boxRectangle].Visible = False
End Sub

Ceci produirait le même résultat comme ci-dessus.

Étude pratiqueÉtude pratique : Présentation des propriétés

  1. Pour changer la vue de la forme, alors que la forme est activée, sur le menu principal, vue de clic - > vue de conception
  2. Noter qu'une fenêtre apparaît avec une légende qui montre la forme. Si vous ne la voyez pas, sur le menu principal du Microsoft Access, vue de clic - > des propriétés
     
  3. C'est la fenêtre de propriétés dans le Microsoft Access. Noter qu'elle est divisée en cinq pages de propriété
  4. Ouvrir de base visuel de Microsoft, sur la norme toolbar du Microsoft Access, cliquent le bouton de code Coder
  5. Noter que les vitrines de propriétés les propriétés de la forme comme elle est choisie dans la fenêtre de projet
  6. Dans la boîte combo d'objet du rédacteur de code, choisir la forme
  7. Dactylographier NavigationButtons = faux
     
  8. Pour retourner au Microsoft Access, sur le toolbar, cliquer le bouton de Microsoft Access de vue Regarder le Microsoft Access
  9. Sur la norme toolbar du Microsoft Access, cliquer le bouton de vue Bouton : Former la vue
     
  10. Après visionnement du résultat, sur la vue de forme toolbar du Microsoft Access, cliquer le bouton de vue Concevoir la vue

Avec les propriétés d'un objet

Parfois, vous devrez accéder à seulement une propriété d'un objet. Dans quelques autres cas, vous devrez changer de diverses propriétés pour exécuter un détail chargez. Pour faire ceci pour chaque propriété, comme nous avons vu en haut, vous pouvez dactylographier le nom de l'objet, suivi de l'opérateur de période, suivi du nom de la propriété, la pression entrent dans, et font la même chose sur la prochaine ligne. Voici un exemple :

Private Sub cmdManipulate_Click()
    boxEnvelop.BackStyle     = 1
    boxEnvelop.BackColor     = 979478
    boxEnvelop.SpecialEffect = 1
    boxEnvelop.BorderColor   = 234657
    boxEnvelop.BorderWidth   = 2
End Sub

Comme alternative, au lieu de dactylographier le nom de la commande à plusieurs reprises encore, vous pouvez employer avec l'opérateur dont la formule est :

With ObjectName
	Statements
End With

Du bon côté du avec le mot-clé, dactylographier le nom de la commande dont aux les propriétés vous voulez accéder. Sous avec la ligne d'ObjectName, dactylographier vos rapports et expressions comme vous souhaitez mais commencez chaque propriété de l'ObjectName avec l'opérateur de période « . ». À la fin du avec le rapport, dactylographier l'extrémité avec. Basé sur ceci, le code ci-dessus aurait été écrit :

Private Sub cmdManipulate_Click()
    With boxEnvelop
    	.BackStyle     = 1
    	.BackColor     = 979478
    	.SpecialEffect = 1
    	.BorderColor   = 234657
    	.BorderWidth   = 2
    End With
End Sub

 

 


Précédent Copyright © Yevol, 2007 Suivant